My life as a cartoon

Most of us have a pretty good idea of how hard to squeeze a ketchup bottle. But one afternoon in a cafe near the university where I work, applying that much pressure and a little more still wasn’t working. The bottle was full and the nozzle was not clogged.

I set the bottle squarely on the counter and squeezed with both hands. That did it: a stream of ketchup shot almost three feet into the air and came down on top of my head. By some minor miracle no one in the sandwich shop was looking my way at that moment. It took three napkins to blot up the ketchup before returning to my class.

One response to “My life as a cartoon

  1. Seems like “cabin fever” is still raging — thanks for the morning laughter!

Leave a Reply

